Managing Licensed Members on the Enterprise Admin Dashboard
Accounts that have been granted a license by your Enterprise appear on the Enterprise Members tab of the Enterprise admin dashboard. These are the accounts that are billable within your organization.
The number of licenses available for use is shown in the seat count box at the bottom of the sidebar of the Enterprise admin dashboard.
Accounts with an Enterprise license are subject to full Enterprise Admin control and visibility via the Enterprise dashboard, including:
- Board creation and deletion restrictions
- Board invitation restrictions
- Attachment restrictions
- Power-up restrictions
- Public board visibility and control.*
*Currently these restrictions only apply to boards on teams within the Enterprise. In summer 2020, these restrictions will extend to all boards within the Enterprise that are owned by billable members (regardless of their presence on an Enterprise team).
In addition, licensed accounts can be invited to any team within your Enterprise, can view all organization-visible boards, and have full access to all paid Trello features such as all power-ups allowed in the Enterprise and Enterprise-grade automation.
Free Managed Accounts
Free Managed Accounts are Trello users that are managed by your Enterprise and have not yet been granted a license. They are listed on the “Free Managed Accounts” tab in the Enterprise admin dashboard.
Because these users are not licensed, they are not billed for. A Trello user can become managed by your Enterprise a number of ways:
- A new user is created with an email address associated with a domain claimed by your Enterprise.
- An existing user logs in to Trello using your Enterprise’s SSO for the first time
- An existing user has an email address that is associated with a domain claimed by your Enterprise when an “auto-transfer” process is performed on behalf of your company.
Free managed users are related to your Enterprise through email domain or SSO but because they do not have a license, they cannot access content owned by your Enterprise (unless they are allowed to as board guests) and are not subject to full Enterprise admin control and visibility that licensed members are. Think of this group as people at your company using Trello outside the teams and boards owned by your Enterprise.
Granting a license to a Trello user
A member can be granted a license in one of two ways:
- They are added to one or more teams that belong to your Enterprise.
- They are explicitly granted a license via the “Grant License” button on the “Free Managed Accounts” tab.
Note: In both cases, a member can only be granted a license if your Enterprise has enough seats remaining.
By default, a Trello user is not required to be managed by your Enterprise before they can be added to an Enterprise team (and thus granted a license). To restrict your Enterprise’s teams to only managed members, change the “Team Membership Restrictions” setting in the “Security” tab of your Enterprise Admin Dashboard.
Revoking a license from a billable member
A member’s license can be revoked at any time by deactivating their account using the “Deactivate” button in the “Members” tab.
Once deactivated, the member will no longer be considered a licensed member and will not have access to any teams or boards that belong to your Enterprise.
At the time of deactivation, any active SSO sessions related to your Enterprise’s Identity Provider will be terminated and the user will be logged out.
Note: The deactivated user will be able to log in again with SSO, so be sure to also deactivate the user in your Identity Provider if you would like to prevent them from accessing the account altogether.