Managed Atlassian Accounts For Trello

What’s happening?

If you’re seeing this page, you’re likely using Trello with a work email address and we’ve probably let you know that your account is getting an upgrade to Atlassian account.

Over the next few months, we’ll help you link your Trello account to an upgraded Atlassian account, which will become managed by your company. 

If you no longer use this Trello account to work with the company that claimed your email

If this account is only used for personal reasons or you no longer work at this company, you should change the email address on this account to a personal email and remove any work-related content. Removing the claimed email will prevent your Trello account from being managed.

What is Atlassian and how is it related to Trello?

Atlassian is a software company that provides the tools to help every team unleash their full potential. These tools include Jira Core, Jira Software, Jira Service Desk, Confluence, Bitbucket, Opsgenie, Statuspage and since acquiring it in 2017, Trello.  

What is an Atlassian account?

With an Atlassian account, you can use just one account to log in to any Atlassian products, such as Jira Core, Jira Software, Jira Service Desk, Confluence, Bitbucket, Opsgenie, Statuspage, or Trello. You don't need to manage separate accounts for each of these products - just one account to rule them all!

Why do I need to use an Atlassian account for Trello?

You will start using an Atlassian account to log in to Trello because your Company has chosen to Manage the accounts in your company. Using an Atlassian account is a requirement for being a Managed Trello user. If you did not already have an Atlassian account, we have created one for you with the information from your Trello account profile.

What does it mean to be Managed by my Company?

Your company has chosen to Manage all of the Atlassian accounts with an email in one of its company-owned email domains (a domain is everything that comes after the @ symbol in an email address).

Effective immediately, your company manages your Atlassian account. Practically, this means that:

  • Your Atlassian account information – such as your name – is now searchable by other users at your company in any Atlassian product so people at your company can collaborate more easily
  • Your Atlassian organization admin can delete or deactivate your Atlassian account at any time. If they delete or deactivate your Atlassian account it won’t impact your Trello account until your Trello account becomes connected to your Atlassian account. 

When will being Managed impact my using Trello?

In February 2020, you will start receiving emails asking you to log in to Trello to finish a quick process to connect your Trello account to your managed Atlassian account.

You will have until April 2020 to connect your accounts, after which we will automatically connect your accounts and your Trello account will be managed.

How will being Managed impact my using Trello?

This change will not impact you using Trello until at least February 2020.

Once your Trello account is connected to your Atlassian account, your company will manage your access to Trello. Once your Trello account is Managed:

  • You will be required to log into Trello using Atlassian account according to your organization’s requirements (ex. via SAML single sign-on or required 2FA.)
  • Your Atlassian organization admin can delete or deactivate your Trello account at any time, which will result in you losing access to Trello.
  • Your display name, avatar and email address in Trello will come from your Atlassian account. If your admin edits your name or email on your Atlassian account it will update your name or email in Trello.

Please note that Access functionality for Trello does not give admins visibility into Trello content within Managed accounts.

What should I do now?

If you use this Trello account for work with the company that claimed your email

Stay tuned for the next steps. We’ll email you and show you banners in Trello asking you to connect your Trello account to your managed Atlassian account.

In the meantime, your managed Trello accounts should only be used for work for the company that manages it. Please use a separate account with a personal email for other Trello projects.

If you have any personal content in the Trello account that your company is claiming, you can create a new account in seconds and move any personal boards to that account to avoid any risk of losing access to it.

How do I find out which company claimed my account?

If you have one email on your Trello account, then your company has claimed the domain of that email address.

If you have more than one email on your Trello account, you can check which email was claimed by:

  • Checking the email we sent you titled [Your company <Your Company’s Name> will soon manage your Trello account]. In that email, we include the company that claimed your account and which domain they claimed, or
  • Logging in to Trello in late February. The banner we display to help you connect your Trello account to your managed Atlassian account will include information about the company that claimed your account.

Who can I talk to at my company about this?

If you have questions about your Atlassian account or you would like to ensure that your org admin does not deactivate your account, please reach out to Atlassian Support, who can provide you with the contact details for your admin(s).

What does it mean if I receive an email from Atlassian saying that my Atlassian account was deactivated/deleted?

Now that you have an Atlassian account that is managed by your company, your Atlassian organization administrator can delete or deactivate your Atlassian account at any time. If your admin deletes or deactivates your account, Atlassian will email you to let you know.

Administrators may choose to delete or deactivate your Atlassian account for many reasons, including if they do not want employees to use Trello with a company email or if they pay on a per-user basis and want to control their bill.

If an admin deletes or deactivates your Atlassian account it won’t impact your Trello account until your Trello account becomes connected to your Atlassian account. Once your Trello account becomes connected to your Atlassian account and mastered, you will lose access to your Trello account if your admin deactivates or deletes it.

If you have questions about why your admin deleted or deactivated your account, you should reach out to your organization admin directly.