Deleting your Trello account

No access to registered email

We recommend working with the email account's mailbox admin (such as the IT department of a former company) if you no longer have access to the registered email associated with your account.

For account security purposes, the Trello team cannot delete an account on behalf of a user and deletion requests must happen from within the account and must be finalized by clicking on the deletion confirmation sent to the registered email mailbox.

You can delete your account by following the steps here. We have covered some scenarios which might run into below. 

Admins of boards

If you're the sole admin of a board with multiple members, we'll remove you from it and it'll be admin-less. If you're the last member on the board, then the board will be deleted. On a paid Workspace, the Workspace admin is able to join the board as an admin and grant this permission to another member.

Personal data retained after account deletion

Once your account is deleted, Trello deletes from our systems your personal data, including things like your name, email address and location.
In certain cases, where Trello has a legitimate business or legal purpose to do so, Trello may keep your personal data. Some examples of this include:
  • Financial information related to things like purchases and billing records; 
  • Records showing why your account was deleted; or
  • Data relating to a litigation or other legal inquiry.

Personal data within user content

When you delete your account, Trello does not delete personal data from content created in Trello, like names or email addresses that were typed into the description of a card or onto a card comment. Product admins or users, depending on the permission settings, would need to delete that content manually.

Personal data in third-party and custom apps

You or other users may have installed third party applications or custom applications, e.g., Power-Ups, that add features to Trello. These apps may have stored your personal data. To see a list of apps that may have stored your personal data, go to your account Settings page before deleting your Trello account.

Deleting an account does not cancel Standard or Premium

If you are the only member of the Standard or Premium Workspace, then your subscription will be cancelled when you delete your account. Individual account subscriptions will also be cancelled if the account they're associated with is deleted.

However, if you're the admin for a Standard or Premium Workspace with multiple members, deleting your account will not cancel your subscription. Instead, you will be prompted to choose a new admin for that Workspace before deleting your account, and the subscription will continue. At that point, only the new admin will be able to cancel the subscription.

To cancel your Standard or Premium subscription, see: Change or cancel your Trello plan.