Enterprise migration to Atlassian Access: End-user experience

This article will show the experience end-users go through when you link your Trello Enterprise to an Atlassian Organization with Atlassian Access SSO configured. If you need more context around what those things are, we recommend reading these resources first:

What will happen to my end users when I link my Enterprise to an Atlassian organization?

When you link your Enterprise to your Atlassian organization in the Enterprise Dashboard, the main change your end-users will see is to the login experience. If they were already logging in with Atlassian, there will be no change. If they were logging in using the Trello Enterprise SSO, email and password, or social logins, the experience will change.

Linking an Enterprise to an Atlassian organization doesn't require any downtime, as you will just be pointing the users to a different login route. Before, they were logging in using the legacy Trello route, and after linking they will go through the Atlassian account route. You should ensure Atlassian Access is set up correctly and users are able to log in to their Atlassian accounts in https://id.atlassian.com before proceeding. If logging into their Atlassian Account is working without issues, there should be no risk of losing access when linking the Enterprise and the Atlassian organization together.

For more information on how to verify your Atlassian Access SSO setup, check out the FAQ here: How do I verify my Atlassian Access SSO is working?

If your end users are already using Atlassian account for Trello, there will be no change.

There are two easy ways you can tell if your users are already using an Atlassian Account to access Trello:

  • If you currently have Trello Enterprise SSO configured and enforced, your users are by default not using an Atlassian Account. It's not impossible that they are, but that would be a rare exception. You can use the method below to further confirm.
  • Open an incognito window and access http://trello.com/login. Type the email address of one of your users in the email field. If the login button turns to Log in with Atlassian, that account is already using an Atlassian account. You can test this with multiple users to be more confident about it–and make sure it's not just one exception.

If your end-users are not using Atlassian account and are logged into Trello

They will see a message in Trello letting them know that your organization is now managing their account. Next, we'll prompt them to either set a new password for their new Atlassian account or log in with a single sign-on (SSO), depending on your organization's security settings.

This is the banner they will see:

Clicking the banner shows the Update your Trello account message. You can see all of the steps in the images below.

If your end-users are not using Atlassian account and are not logged into Trello

They will see a message next time they try to log in asking them to check their email. The email will let them know that your organization is now managing their account and will give them a special link to return to Trello, where they will need to either set a new password for their new Atlassian account or log in with single sign-on (SSO), depending on your organization's security settings.

This is what the error message looks like:

And this is the message users will receive on their email:

Once users click the Connect accounts button, they will see the same flow described in the section above.