Atlassian Access for Trello - FAQ for Admins in the Early Access Program (EAP)

Joining the EAP for Trello 

Once we enroll your organization, we will begin the process of making all of your Trello users fully Managed. Fully Managed Trello users will be required to log in via Atlassian account according to your Access requirements (using your company's Single Sign-On provider) just like any other Atlassian user. New users who sign up for Trello using your domain will be directed to sign up as fully Managed Atlassian users automatically.

Existing Trello users on your domain will be emailed and encouraged to log in and quickly connect their Trello accounts to an Atlassian account and become fully Managed via the in-app onboarding banner. We ask them to move personal boards out to a non-work Trello account and to remove any non-work emails.

Update impacting organizations currently enrolled in the EAP: Starting 12 Dec 2019, we will be creating Atlassian accounts for any users who have not yet connected their Trello account to Atlassian via the in-app onboarding banner. These users will appear in the Atlassian admin portal and can be partially Managed by an admin. They will become fully Managed when they complete the voluntary onboarding process. The time for users to complete this will end when we automatically onboard all remaining accounts later next year. 


Frequently Asked Questions


What is happening starting 12 Dec 2019?
So far in the EAP, the admin portal has only shown Trello users who 1) have an existing Atlassian account or 2) have completed voluntary onboarding. Starting 12 Dec 2019, we will create Atlassian accounts for any users who do not already have one and who have not yet onboarded. These accounts will appear in the admin portal as partially Managed users, giving you a full view into the Trello usage at your organization.

What is the difference between a partially Managed user and a fully Managed user?
A user is partially Managed if they have not completed voluntary onboarding to link their Trello account to an Atlassian account. For these users:

  • Deactivating or deleting the user’s Atlassian account will not revoke their access to Trello
  • Changes to their Atlassian account profile will not propagate to Trello
  • Username/email and password can still be used to login to Trello

A fully Managed user is one who has completed the voluntary onboarding step, and their Trello account is linked to an Atlassian account. For these users:

  • Deactivating or deleting the user’s Atlassian account will revoke their access to Trello
  • Changes to their Atlassian account profile will propagate to Trello
  • Login to Trello must happen according to the organization’s login policy (ie. SAML/SSO, MFA, etc.)
  • Users become billable if they are not already licensed to your Atlassian Access subscription

Note: If a user did not previously have an Atlassian account, completing the onboarding step would automatically link the user’s Trello account to an Atlassian account and cause the user to appear in the admin portal as fully Managed.

How will Trello users change my bill? 
Once your unique Trello users (users not already using another Atlassian product, nor on your existing Access bill) have linked their accounts to an Atlassian account and become Managed Users, we will add them to your Atlassian Access license just like all of your other Atlassian users. 

Users who are considered billable in Access:
  • Managed Trello users with unique emails that have been recently active
  • New users who sign up for Trello and are not on your existing Access subscription

Users who will not impact your Access bill:

  • Any Managed Trello users already on your existing Access subscription
  • Users who have not been active since February 2018 (you do not need to action these users in order to exclude them from your Access bill)

Note: Access for Trello does not require upgrading Trello accounts to Business Class or Enterprise.

The Atlassian accounts that are created on 12 Dec 2019 may add additional accounts to your Managed user list. Only Trello users who are not using another Atlassian product will count towards your Access subscription.   

In order to give you plenty of time to deactivate or delete Atlassian accounts you do not want to be billed for in the future,  we will not bill you for any of your organization’s Trello-only users until March or later. This includes any Trello-only users who have already onboarded.  

What’s changing in the admin portal? 
With the change coming 12 Dec 2019, you will be able to see all Trello users in your organization - not just the ones who already had an Atlassian account or who had completed the onboarding process.  We also added a few other details to better help you understand the Trello usage in your organization and to contact your Trello users directly if you have more questions:

  • The user’s email
  • When the user was last active in Trello
  • Whether the user will become billable after their Trello account is linked to their Atlassian account

A .CSV export is available for you to download which includes the above information, as well as information about the user’s Trello plan (free, Business Class, or Enterprise). We highly encourage you to reach out directly to users before deactivating if they are on a paid Trello plan, as deactivating may prevent them from accessing their paid account.

As early as possible, please review the Trello users appearing in your admin portal:

  • Add Trello-only users to your IdP under the “Atlassian Cloud” application. Users not added to your IdP may not be able to complete account onboarding. 
  • Discuss Trello usage with your users and have them update their Trello email or deactivate their accounts if necessary.

What should Trello end users expect?
Starting 12 Dec 2019, we will send an email notice to any user who has not completed account onboarding, letting them know they are now visible within your organization’s admin portal and that their account is partially Managed. We will continue to encourage these users to complete the onboarding process with email reminders and in-app banners. In a few months if a user has not completed onboarding, we will automatically link their Trello account to an Atlassian account, making them fully Managed.

Does anything change for Trello Enterprise users in my organization?
Users that are already managed by a Trello Enterprise will not be manageable in the admin portal and are not billable in Access. Users that are not managed by a Trello Enterprise but are paid members of a Trello Enterprise team will be manageable in the admin portal but are also not billable in Access.  

Are more features coming to Access for Trello?
Yes! On top of the core Access features like single sign-on, multi-factor authentication, and premium Support that are available today for Trello, we are actively working on improving the existing experience and adding additional features. Stay tuned as we gradually roll out SCIM functionality for Trello!

Who can I talk to about questions or concerns? 
Our Atlassian Access Support team is best equipped to handle your questions regarding Access for Trello. Instead of contacting Trello Support, please contact Atlassian Support and select “Atlassian Access” as the product.