Merging Workspaces

We're going through some changes! Trello Teams are now Workspaces. Soon, all boards will be in a Workspace. You might see us mention Teams in a few places as we're going through these changes. Thanks for your patience!

When upgrading to  Trello Business Class, consolidating Workspaces is a good way to unify your users and boards so that you don't pay multiple times for each user. 

If you don't have any Workspaces upgraded to Business Class, upgrade the one with the most members. Otherwise, select a Business Class Workspace. You can change a Workspace name and short name at any time by clicking “Edit Profile” from the Workspace settings page:

“Name” is what will appear on that page, and “Short Name” is the string that will show up in the Workspace URL (e.g.  trello.com/workspacename).

Once you've upgraded that Workspace to Business Class, check to make sure Guests are allowed on Workspace boards from the Workspace “Settings” tab:

From that Workspace Boards tab, create a new collection for the first Workspace you’re going to merge:

If you need to edit a collection’s title or delete it, click the “+” icon under one of the boards and the pencil icon next to the collection you’d like to edit:

Once the collection is created, go to the first Workspace you’re going to merge. If there’s an option, click “Show other members’ private boards” so you can be sure to move all boards over. This option won’t show up if there aren’t any private boards you’re not a member of:

If you’re moving over a board that you don’t want everyone to have access to, be sure the icon on the far right of the title says “Private”:

If it says “Public” or “Workspace-visible”, you can change the board to “Private” by clicking that phrase and selecting “Private”:

Once you’re ready to move the board, click the name of the board’s current Workspace directly to the right of the title and select “Change Workspace”:

Select your main Workspace from the drop-down. Once the board has been moved, you can add it to a collection from the mean Workspace boards page. Click the “+” under the board:

Once you’ve moved over all boards from a Workspace, you can move over the members. Go to the Workspace you’re merging to find the usernames of your Workspace members:

On the main Workspace, click “Invite Workspace Members” to add each member:

If you’re unable to click the member to add them, they are already a member of the Workspace:

Then, go back to the Workspace you’re merging and remove that member from that Workspace by clicking “Remove” to the right of their name, to keep track of who’s been added.

Once everyone has been added removed from that Workspace, you can delete it. Go to the Settings tab and click “Delete Workspace?” at the bottom of the page to remove the Workspace from Trello.

Continue these steps for your remaining Workspaces.