Using the Bitbucket Power-Up

Enabling the Bitbucket Power-Up

To enable the Power-Up, open the board menu on the right side of the page, select the Power-Ups menu option, and then click the "Enable" button next to the Bitbucket Cloud Power-Up.

Note: The Bitbucket Power-Up only works with with Bitbucket Cloud. It will not work with Bitbucket Server or Bitbucket Data Center.

Authenticating with Bitbucket

Once the Power-Up is enabled for the board, each individual user will need to authenticate their Bitbucket account from within Trello. Click on the "Bitbucket" button on the upper right hand side of the board:

When you click on the "Connect to Bitbucket", you'll be prompted to authorize Trello to access your Bitbucket account:

Using the Power-Up

The Bitbucket Power-up has the following capabilities:

  • Ability to attach a Bitbucket branch, commit, or pull request to a card.
  • Ability to create a branch from a card
  • Ability to track status of a pull requests' status from the front of the card

Attaching pull requests, branches, or commits

To attach a Bitbucket branch, commit, or pull request to a card, you can either paste the Bitbucket URL on top of a card, create a URL attachment on the card using the URL to the Bitbucket resource, or use the card's Power-Up button on the sidebar of the card:

If you attach a pull request or branch to the card, you'll see a green or red icon indicating the build status of that pull request or branch. You won't see a status icon for commits, as commits don't get individual builds.

Build status icons are displayed for cards with attached pull requests or branches.

Creating a branch from a card

Likewise, you can use this same button to create a new branch in your repository using the card's title and description.

When you select "Create branch", a new tab will open pointing you to the Bitbucket create branch page:

After you select "Create branch" the tab will close and you'll be sent back to your Trello card with the new branch attached:

Removing a repository from your board

If for some reason, you no longer want a repository attached to your board, you can open up the Power-Up panel in the right sidebar, look for the Bitbucket Cloud Power-Up, then select the gear icon:

A popup menu will appear. Select the "Edit Power-Up Settings":

To remove the repository you no longer want to link to, click the "Remove" link.

Disabling the Power-Up

In the same edit menu above, you can select "Remove Personal Settings" in order to log out of your Bitbucket account in Trello. This will not remove the repositories linked on your board, just the authentication tokens assigned to your board.

Likewise, if you no longer want to use the Power-Up, you can click on the Disable button in the Power-Up sidebar. Note, this will remove the Power-Up for all users using this board.